The university is governed by a 30-member board of trustees, of whom not more than one-third may be Vincentian priests.

The president is the chief executive officer of the university. He is aided in administering the various colleges and schools within the university by the executive vice president, the vice president for academic affairs, the vice president for student life, the vice president for administration and the vice president for institutional advancement. The deans and directors of each college and school coordinate the educational affairs of the various undergraduate and graduate programs. The goals of each college and school are in harmony with those of the university.