Religious Studies, Minor

A minor in religious studies is awarded to a student who successfully completes a sequence of six courses, which includes the three course units (nine semester hours) in religious studies as required by the university. Two minor programs are possible as follows:

General Religious Studies

REL 101Introduction to Religion3
or REL 103 Introduction to Christianity
Select five additional courses in consultation with the Department of Religious Studies15
Total Credits18

Catholic Studies

REL 103Introduction to Christianity3
Select five additional courses providing emphasis on Catholic teaching and tradition, e.g.:15
Jesus the Christ
Christian Sacraments
Christian Morality
Contemporary Catholic Theology
Church and Culture
American Catholicism
Total Credits18

On completion of a minor program the student will be awarded a certificate.